Being Vegan (Main meals): Post 4 for Lent 2017 ✝️ | plus Psalm 23: God is ALWAYS with you!

Hiya,

Main (cooked) meals should be an essential part of any diet, ideally to have every day, especially in winter. ❄️ So, here is a list of some main meals which I typically have as a vegan! Remember, if you haven’t read my last post yet and would like to, the link for it is here. Enjoy ☺️

Sunday Roast substitute: nut roast/nut cutlet

You can get these from most supermarkets (in the UK, at least!) in the “free-from” section. It goes equally as well with chicken (if not even more so!) with all the usual Sunday lunch accompaniments (I use vegan gravy).

Sausage “N” Mash

This classic English dinner tastes absolutely amazing with soya vegan/vegetarian sausages (the Linda McCartney ones especially!). I prefer these sausages to meat ones anyway, as they are so full of flavour, but without the horrible gristle that you can get in meat sausages, especially ones with a high meat proportion in them – it’s definitely an awesome, non-gross alternative!

Soya mince Spaghetti Bolognese

This is a classic spag bol with a twist – made with (dried) soya mince instead of turkey/beef/whatever your choice of meat mince. Make everything else in exactly the same way as usual and there you have it: cruelty-free spag bol!

Pizza made with vegan cheese

This is delicious and surprisingly similar to normal pizza. Top tip: if you don’t like the taste of vegan cheese (which I personally don’t really), then make your pizza with red onion or something else strong to overpower the disliked taste (that is, presuming you like the taste of onion)! What I find slightly strange is the fact that the cheese doesn’t really melt, but just stays in exactly the same position as how you grated it…

Vegan stir-fry

This tastes SO GOOD with tofu 👌 rather than chicken or even Quorn (not that I’m biased or anything 😛). It’s also naturally quite authentic as it’s an oriental invention going with a classic oriental dish. Simply substitute chicken with tofu and there you have it: a delicious-tasting, healthy, lean meal!

Veggie burger & chips

This makes a great veggie/vegan alternative to the classic fish & chips on a Friday. Oven-cooked chips shown in the photo are also a way of making this dish even healthier.

The Bible Section: Food for Thought

Song & Bible Verse

I thought that this week I’d combine the two and show you a Bible verse that’s been turned into a song! It’s psalm 23, and it’s “The Lord’s my Shepherd”.

What is a psalm?, you may ask. Well, it’s basically a religious song that the people of God wrote in Biblical times, usually to praise God for the work that He had done so far in their lives. Psalm 23 one of my favourite chapters in the Bible, and also one of my favourite (relatively) contemporary hymns which we sing at my church. The Bible verse is as follows (version NLT – there are different versions, which is why the song has slightly different words, although they amount to the same thing):

A psalm of David.

1 The Lord is my shepherd;
I have all that I need.
2 He lets me rest in green meadows;
he leads me beside peaceful streams.
3 He renews my strength.
He guides me along right paths,
bringing honor to his name.
4 Even when I walk
through the darkest valley,
I will not be afraid,
for you are close beside me.
Your rod and your staff
protect and comfort me.
5 You prepare a feast for me
in the presence of my enemies.
You honor me by anointing my head with oil.
My cup overflows with blessings.
6 Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
all the days of my life,
and I will live in the house of the Lord
forever.

Just for a bit of context here, David was the king of Judah and Israel, which were two important parts of the modern-day Holy Land, between roughly 1000 and 962 BC (quite a long time before Jesus was born). He has also written a lot of psalms, and this is a great example of one of them.

A song version of this psalm which I really recommend you listen to can be found here. Again it’s a lovely song for being prayerful and open to God to speak to you too, but also for keeping things in life in perspective when the going gets tough (e.g. during exams). I particularly like the descant (harmony) sung by the sopranos for the chorus! I had this song going over in my head during my various D of E expeditions which I did for the award, and it really made me appreciate the beauty of God’s creation and that he is by my side, every step I take, despite being so far away from civilisation at times – verses 1-4 (see above) are especially relevant for this, in my opinion. (For those who don’t know, D of E is an award scheme for young people in the UK and other countries, whereby to receive the award you have to go on expeditions, and take part in a volunteering, skills and physical exercise scheme for a certain length of time depending on the level.) Verses 5-6 are also so reassuring, as it reminds us that we’re all equal in God’s eyes, and that we are all overwhelmed by God’s mercy so often. It just all makes me feel so thankful and so blessed. 😇 It also reminds us that if we make the commitment to believe in Jesus as our creator and live this out, then we will never be separated from God, dwelling in His house forever, both on Earth and in Heaven.  Psalm 23 is an important reminder that even if people here on Earth don’t always do the best things, for whatever it may be or for whatever reason, God is the constant in life who always blesses us and knows best, above all.

IMG_4105
A picture which I took on my last ever D of E expedition in the English Lake District, Cumbria. God’s creation is really something to behold!

So, that’s the end of my Lent blog for this Sunday! Thanks for reading it! Also, happy Mothering Sunday if you’re in the UK! 🇬🇧 Be sure to spoil rotten all the people in your life who have nurtured you and care for you! That could include mothers, grandmothers, sisters, aunts, friends, teachers or anyone else who has positively influenced you life! 💖 Just to finish, I’d recommend that you read Exodus 2:1-10, as this tells the story of Moses’ early life (an important man of God in the Old Testament). This really puts into perspective the lengths that mothers and mother-figures go to for the wellbeing of their children.

Once again, a massive thanks for taking the time to read my blog! I really appreciate your support 😘

Sarah xx

One thought on “Being Vegan (Main meals): Post 4 for Lent 2017 ✝️ | plus Psalm 23: God is ALWAYS with you!

Leave a Reply

