Being Vegan (breakfasts): Post 3 for Lent 2017 ✝️ | plus Be Courageous!

Hey you,

For this third week of Lent I thought I’d talk to you about what I  have for breakfast every day as a vegan. This will be a relatively short post, as there are only really 2 different things that I’d have for breakfast, depending on whether it is a weekday or the weekend. Sorry this post is a little late – I forgot to take a photo of the porridge I have, and it MUST be included (obviously!) If you missed last week’s post for whatever reason, be sure to find it here.

Soooo, here’s what I have for breakfast as a vegan and some beautiful photos to go with it! Enjoy xx

 

Weekdays: Porridge with raisins and soya yoghurt/milk

This is an ideal thing to have on weekday mornings, when you’re in a rush but you want something nutritious and slow-releasing to eat at the same time. I make my porridge with water, but you can also make it with soya milk if you prefer.

 

Weekends: Toast with spread and/or Marmite, soya fruit yoghurt and a banana 🍌

IMG_5987

This is a nice thing to have when you have a little more time, and I guess if you want to be a little more imaginative with breakfast. This again is very nutritious and healthy (makes a change from all that Nutella I normally have at weekends when I’m just a veggie! 😛

 

The Bible Section: Food for Thought

Again, sorry for the pun, but this makes rather a good tagline, so I think I’m gonna keep it, at least for this year anyway! 🙃

Song

I think this week I’ll introduce you to the song “Oceans” by Hillsong United. This is a calming, reflective song which is lovely to play when you’re praying, or even when you first get up in the morning to thank God for a new day and a new chance to do good things. Listen and familiarise yourself with/learn the lyrics to this beautiful song on a Youtube video of it here. My favourite bit from the song is this:

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Saviour

…as it reminds us that although we are simply mortal humans God can lead us to do great things which again simply wouldn’t be possible without him, as we can do all things through Christ who strengthens us (Philippians 4:13).

Leading us through the “great unknown” I also find extremely profound: although none of us really know what the future holds for us, God does, and in doing so guides us through life, if we choose to put our trust in Him.

I also really love how the songwriter(s) has used the analogy of oceans throughout this  song, as it is extremely fitting to what it’s about and to the Bible itself. It also reminds us of how wonderful God’s creation is (Genesis 1:20-21) and how we should bless it by doing good things in honour of God.

 

Bible Verses

This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” — Joshua 1:9

This is one of my all-time favourites, because it further demonstrates that God is our guardian and that he in fact cares for us and has our best interests at heart: He commands us to be strong and courageous, not just suggests it. It also just so happens to neatly tie in with this week’s song, Oceans. So this means that every single battle in life which we face has been given to us by God for a reason, and I am in fact a strong believer in the notion that everything happens for a reason. God never gives us more than we can handle, and that is something to remember.

 

Poem

Check out this wonderful poem entitled “Footprints in the Sand” for a beautiful interpretation that represents the fact that when the going gets tough, God has it all covered!

 

Anyways, that’s all for this week. Sorry this was a day late, but God calls us to forgive!!

 

2 thoughts on “Being Vegan (breakfasts): Post 3 for Lent 2017 ✝️ | plus Be Courageous!

Leave a Reply

