Books I’ve Read This Month: January 2017

Hi everyone!

So, one of my New Year’s Resolutions for 2017 was to read more books – at least 50 to be specific, as I mentioned in my 50 Random Facts About Me post I did a couple of weeks ago. I’ve decided to tell you guys about every single book I’ve read this year, in monthly instalments, and also give you a mini review and rating for each of them. I’ve also joined the 50 Book Pledge this year, after being recommended by a friend, so if you’d like a live update on what I’ve read, what I’m reading and what I plan to read soon, then take a look at my 50 Book Pledge page!

So, without further ado, here’s what I read January 2017…

Book #1: Spot the Difference by Juno Dawson

This is a lovely little book which was released especially for World Book Day last year, although I hadn’t got around to reading it until this month. It’s essentially about whether or not prioritising popularity over being your true self really is the right thing to do, and kind of reminds me of the film Mean Girls! I’d thoroughly recommend this book if you can get your hands on it still, as it’s a lot of lessons can be learnt from it and it is a short read which is easy to get into – I read it all in one sitting!

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Book #2: Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

A great book about friendship and family relationships and the differences and struggles some people have to overcome in order to befriend each other. I found this book quite relatable, because I myself have moved to a strange city having not down many people, just like Suzanne in the book. Also, something I LOVE about this book is that it is set in Brighton, one of my favourite places, and I could imagine myself being there in the book as I knew about where they were referring to! This is a great book I’d recommend to those who’d like to read a deep book about meaningful and complicated friendship between teenage girls.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Book #3: Self Help by Miranda Sings

A funny, simplistic and entertaining book which is great to read for a bit of light relief (I’d recommend it to help with A level stress)! It is, of course by Coleen Ballinger, the actress who plays Miranda Sings, the YouTuber, although many other YouTubers have also contributed to the book. It’s great if you like pictures and drawings, as there’s a lot of them, and in true Miranda style, it has a lot of spelling and grammatical mistakes (made me feel a little better about my own writing, to be honest!)

(Sorry that this book is not in the featured picture! I borrowed it from the library and I had to return it before I knew all the books I had read!)

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Book #4: Lying About Last Summer by Sue Wallman

This book covers both friendship and bereavement experienced by the teenage characters, and the affect that time has on grieving for loved one. It is about a girl, Skye, who goes to a summer camp for bereaved teenagers, and how all the attendees help each other with their respective bereavements… Again a great book for anyone who wants to read about the deep and complicated struggles that many teenagers experience.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Book #5: The Shepherd’s Life by James Rebanks

This book is not something I’d usually read, however, I enjoyed it nonetheless! It also gave a real insight into the life of a shepherd in 21st century UK (a life which most of us do not have these days), in a non-idyllic, realistic way. This book has been a number 1 bestseller, and now I understand why! I’d recommend this book to anyone who’d like thread something slightly different, and would like to learn about what modern sheep farming is like.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Book #6: The One We Fell in Love With by Paige Toon

A really pleasant yet emotional book. It’s about three identical triplets with three far from identical personalities, who all have this massive crush on a boy who has recently moved into next door to them. I don’t want to give away too much but it really does articulate human emotions well, handling both romance and bereavement. Although it does clever quite a lot of romance, it somehow also avoids being clichéd – another thing I love about this book! Definitely recommend, as there’s something in it for everyone!

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Book #7: How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

Such a meaningful book about how relationships with friends and family can change over time and distance. The story line of this book was particularly well written and I’d recommend this book to anyone who would like to read a novel which contains a bit about everything. I’m looking forward to reading more books by Holly Bourne soon as I like her writing style, and I’m also interested to read stories with Amber’s (the main character in this book) friends when they’re the main characters.

(Sorry that this book isn’t in the picture for this post either – I had it on my phone so I didn’t have an actual physical copy of it to photograph!)

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

So there you have it! All the books I read in January of this year! I hope you enjoyed reading about what I’ve read, and that you’ve got some books to read to your TBR list!

Until next week,

Sarah xx

3 thoughts on “Books I’ve Read This Month: January 2017

Leave a Reply

